The Decision Change

Over the course of the summer I began to really consider the idea I originally had for my COP3 dissertation. Initially I had intended to take a look into the impacts that the arts have on mental health, but this was unfortunately too broad and needed to be much more focused.

An opportunity had come up to be in charge of running a number of workshops with an Age Uk Group in which I worked with the elderly women and helped them to create artwork based on what kept them mentally well and happy/content.

After this experience I really began to question the importance of the work these kinds of groups do where the arts are concerned and just how much these kinds of things have on the individuals.

As a result of this, I decided to change my approach towards the dissertation and what I would begin researching. Luckily I had already taken Conversation by Grant H Kester out of the library amongst various other books. These gave me a decent level on which to begin researching the subject.

Leave a Reply

