Through Summer…

I concentrated on a single style of drawing that I’ve really enjoyed producing, dot work does take a long time to create and a lot of patience which I often lack when it comes to sitting and drawing for long periods of time. But this is something that I enjoyed so much I ended up taking a sketchbook everywhere with me, especially on the commute to work in order for me to get the work done.

IMG_0018IMG_0002Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 23.53.53

Having being drawing using this technique over the course of a few months, I am already beginning to see myself improve. Doing this kind of artwork has also boosted my confidence with illustration in general, being able to do the outlines, shading etc is something I would have struggled with a while ago but now I’m more willing to try different things.

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 23.53.30
Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 23.54.44 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 23.54.16

I even began experimenting with type made from dotwork, it was reasonably successful for the first try but there are multiple improvements I would now make looking back on the piece.

However for this project I will not be concentrating on this style, as discussed with Marianne it is very concentrated and I need to loosen up where illustration is concerned so will be trying a completely new style as part of this project. I will continue to create this type of work in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

