Luke Pearson- Illustrator

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 21.56.28

Luke Pearson is one of my favourite british artists, his strong personal style and ability to draw audiences in is highly admirable and something I aspire to within my own practice. His ability to create characters that in some way appeal to everyone is envious, even his comic strips based on himself can keep individuals fascinated for lengthy periods of time. Having heard about him during a talk from Nobrow Press, a company which he works closely with, I followed his work closely and even purchased some from a local comic book store.

Personal style is something I feel I really need to work on, to be able to have someone identify your work without your name on it is something I think many artists would like to happen. Limited colour palettes are something I need to work on, it is something Luke Pearson has perfected.

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 21.56.17                         Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 21.51.55|

Hildafolk is one of his most popular pieces of work, a tale of a small country girl going on fantastical adventures, with such a likeable character and beautiful artwork many people are now waiting for some kind of animated series to be created as it would work beautifully and draw in further attention for the artists work.

His work is going to be something I refer back to throughout my process, as its such an inspiration and a real driving force behind my determination for my own artistic identity, hopefully by the end of this process or even this year I will have began to achieve this.

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 22.47.42 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 22.48.08 Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 22.48.38

Leave a Reply

